What Happens When the Passion is Gone?

Standard

Hockey SkatesBelieve it or not, there was a time when I had no interest in hockey. It was years and years ago when there was an incident at school while playing road hockey that I started a large fight. I don’t remember much of that, apparently it involved me swinging a stick at another player, but I never picked up a stick after that.

It wasn’t until I got involved in a hockey pool years later that I became interested in hockey once again. A dear friend of mine nagged me to get involved so I did. I had years of players stats to catch up but I was able to draft well and a few years later I won the pool. My passion for hockey has been resurrected.

Recently I visited my friend who I haven’t seen in years. We were catching up and I brought up my profession as a sports reporter. It kind of caught me by surprise that he doesn’t follow hockey anymore. When I bring up names like Tanner Pearson, Mark Scheifele, and Aaron Ekblad, 3 NHL first-round picks in recent years, he said those names don’t ring a bell. He mentioned to me that he kind of lost the passion for hockey years ago.

It was tough to hear that from him considering he is the reason I’m talking about hockey today. But I can tell you he is not the only one who has lost their passion for a sport, art, music, etc.. There comes a time when there is no longer a desire to continue doing something or following something that you once loved. But my friend made no spectacle about it, he simply walked away. I can’t say the same about others who seem to like to let the world know how they are mad as hell and are not going to take it anymore. Riiiiight. These people, namely those who like to throw jerseys or waffles on the ice, are in need of serious professional help. Does anyone know the number of Dr. Drew?

But let’s be serious for a moment. If you don’t care about a sport for any reason, just leave. No one is pushing you out the door. There are those who are really putting a major damper on sports by making idle threats to leave. And not all of them belong to some left-wing, pinko group. Even those who call themselves right-wing, conservatives also fall in line and drink the Kool-Aid. It goes to show that you don’t have to be a multi-millionaire athlete to whine and complain. I don’t know of any former alcoholic wanting to have prohibition restored on beer and spirits, or a rehabilitated drug abuser joining in on the war on drugs. If a sport no longer suits our fancy, we should let the chips fall and move on.

However, I hope one day my friend will get his passion for hockey back, just like I did. It will take some time. There is an old saying that you don’t what you’ve got until it’s gone. I somehow managed to figure that out. Others will too.

Leave a Reply

